The Gentleman Spy – Audra Reads

Title: The Gentleman Spy The Gentleman Spy

Author: Erica Vetsch

Genre: Historical, Christian, Fiction

Publisher: Kregel

Synopsis: He only wanted a duchess for a day–but she’s determined to make it a marriage for life.

When his father and older brother suddenly pass away, the new Duke of Haverly is saddled with a title he never expected to bear. To thwart the plans of his scheming family, the duke impulsively marries a wallflower. After all, she’s meek and mild; it should be easy to sequester her in the country and get on with his life–as a secret agent for the Crown.

But his bride has other ideas. She’s determined to take her place not only as his duchess but as his wife. As a duchess, she can use her position to help the lowest of society–the women forced into prostitution because they have no skills or hope. Her endeavors are not met favorably in society, nor by her husband who wishes she’d remain in the background as he ordered.

Can the duke succeed in relegating her to the sidelines of his life? When his secrets are threatened with exposure, will his new wife be an asset or a liability?

Scroll to the bottom for a GIVEAWAY!


My Thoughts

Have I mentioned that I love Regency stories? Well, know you know 😊. I read Erica Vetsch The Lost Lieutenant earlier this year when it came out and was so intrigued by the little hints of Marcus in it. So, when I heard that The Gentleman Spy was his story I knew I had to read it! The Gentleman Spy is the second book in Erica Vetsch’s Serendipity & Secrets Series, but it can be read as a standalone if you have not read the first book yet.

“I will Pray that God hits you over the head with a bit of wisdom”

The characters in this story were intriguing. From the beginning of the story to the end, the characters reveal more of themselves as we get to know them slowly. I liked Marcus’s struggles. I think we can all relate to them in a broad sense (as none of us probably have the responsibilities of a Duke), but we are thrown into situations over which we have no control and must learn how to handle them. I thought Erica Vetsch did a good job giving Marcus a mysterious air. Lady Charlotte was a mix of a submissive daughter and a strong-willed wife. I loved her helpful spirit and her unconventional (for that time) ideas & convictions. Both characters learned lessons and had good character arcs. Plus, we get to see how Evan and Diana are doing from the previous book, which I thoroughly liked.

“You can’t put God in a box, and you can’t put a wife there either. Both will spill over, and both deserve more from you. You’re missing out on life’s greatest joys, and you don’t even know it.”

The setting and the plot for this book were well planned out. The pace of the story seemed to fit the timeline very well and I thought some of the themes were interesting points for the period that are not often made. I did think that the book was a little anticlimactic, but nevertheless an interesting story overall. Readers who like Jody Hedlund, Jen Turano, and Elizabeth Camden will love this historical fiction story!

I give this book 4 out of 5 Stars for the intriguing characters, the interesting themes, and for leaving me curious about the next book in the series. The only thing I would like to have seen was a more climactic storyline (Although that may be due to my imaginings of Marcus’ story that started after I read The Lost Lieutenant)

*I volunteered to read this book in return for my honest feedback. The thoughts and opinions expressed within are my own.


About the Author

Erica VetschErica Vetsch is a New York Times best-selling and ACFW Carol Award–winning author. She is a transplanted Kansan now living in Minnesota with her husband, who she claims is both her total opposite and soul mate. Vetsch loves Jesus, history, romance, and sports. When she’s not writing fiction, she’s planning her next trip to a history museum and cheering on her Kansas Jayhawks and New Zealand All Blacks.

A self-described history geek, she has been planning her first research trip to England.
Learn more about Erica Vetsch and her books at www.ericavetsch.com. She can also be found on Facebook (@EricaVetschAuthor), Twitter (@EricaVetsch), Instagram (@EricaVetsch) and Pinterest (Erica Vetsch).


GIVEAWAY!!

Grey weathered parchment

– A copy of Erica Vetsch’s The Lost Lieutenant and The Gentleman Spy
– A library card tote bag
– A bookshelf pouch bag
– A book mug
– A Willow Tree book angel
– A book page holderAll you have to do to enter is to fill out your name and email address, but there are lots of ways to earn BONUS entries. It’s completely up to you how many you want to do. You can even do a daily Tweet!

Click Here To ENTER !!


Damask seamless emboss pattern background. Vector classical luxury old damask ornament, royal victorian seamless texture for wallpapers, textile, wrapping. Vintage exquisite floral baroque template.

 

Share This Post:
Default image
Travelers Wife 4 Life

Quiet, Quirky, and a Lover of Adventure both indoor's and out.

Articles: 455

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    • Your welcome 🙂 🙂 Thanks for the lovely story! I am so looking forward to the next book in the series! (I mistakenly read the teaser chapter at the end of the book…I know better than to do that!) So now I am in total curiosity about the next one 🙂